10 Item(s)

per page

Most Recent Customer Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
February 28, 2018
Works as advertised By Dad

I got this product to keep my dog away from the new grass I am reseeding, and some bushes he likes to eat for some reason. The unit I received worked for maybe two hours, during which I had the pleasure of watching the initial introduction between my dog and the fence (he's fine). However the unit suddenly stopped working on its own and nothing I did would revive it. I called the Zareba helpline and the person at Zareba was completely professional. After walking through all of the steps I tried to get the charger to work again, she agreed with me that the unit was a dud and sent me a replacement at no cost to me, which arrived a few days later. This latest unit has been working for a couple of days now and I am happy. I may get another one at some point for a different area of my garden.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
January 24, 2013
Amazon Review, Easy to Use, Good Battery Time By
This is a great little kit for lightweight pest infestation; meaning small animals, animals you want to discourage from tromping through the garden. I have yet to try it out against deer. The deer in our area are very persistent and I doubt this will work to discourage the horde we have around here. We finally fenced in the garden. But for smaller projects, flower gardens, young trees you are trying to get to take hold, this kit is good. Two D batteries, easy set up and you might actually have flowers through out the spring and summer.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
November 13, 2012
Amazon Review, Rabbits Ate My Green Beans! By
I have a sizeable vegetable garden in my backyard. This year I lost every green bean of three plantings to rabbits! None of the traditional fencing kept them out. The Havahart 5250 Electronic Deer Repellent protected my flower beds against deer. So, I thought that this electric fence might control the rabbits allowing me to actually harvest beans. I received the Zareba fence too late in the season to test its effectiveness against these pests. However, I set it up just to check out the operation. The kit conveniently includes the two D-cell batteries required to power the fence and an electric fence tester. The instructions are a bit sketchy on installation. Being unfamiliar with electric fencing, I did a bit of Internet research before setting this up. The Zabera website has diagrams and installation advice. The construction is fairly straightforward, just be sure that the fence is properly grounded. Also, if you have a lot of vegetation touching the wire, the voltage will be reduced and be ineffective. Being powered by two D batteries, I'm not too worried about the change being hazardous to people. This kit hardly deserves the name "electric fence." It's similar to the Havahart Electronic Deer Repellent. Powered by 2-AA batteries, the Havahart stings if you bump into it while wearing shorts, but it's not really painful. I have high hopes for a nice harvest next summer. I'll edit this review with the outcome and adjust the stars accordingly.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 25, 2012
Amazon Review By
This is a handy one-box electric fence kit that contains all you need for installing a small self-powered electric fence. If you've had any experience with deer or other pests in your yard, you know that the most effective deterrent for protecting your plantings is a fence. Electric fences work exceptionally well for keeping animals out, and they have the added convenience of being easy to set up and take down. This kit is great for fencing a small area. It includes all you need for a complete fence set up: a battery operated charger (rated for 5 acres) and 4 D batteries, a spool of electric fence wire (250 feet), 10 sturdy 24" green plastic fence posts, a 30" copper ground rod and mounting hardware, a plastic mounting post, a simple fence tester, and a set of 3 warning signs (required in some areas, recommended for all). The box says you can build a fence of 100 linear feet with this kit. Depending on how many strands of wire you decide to use, you could get a bit further. And since the charger is rated for 5 acres, if you really wanted to extend the fence, you could purchase additional wire and posts and go a lot further. I have a patch of hostas in my yard that the deer eat right down to soil level every year. I took this fence kit out to my hosta patch and within 20 minutes from opening the box, I had a nice tight electric fence around the plants. The only tools I needed for setting up the fence were a set of wire cutters, a slot screw driver for the mounting hardware on the ground rod, and a light sledge hammer for driving the ground rod into the ground. The only problem was the limited instructions. I've never set up an electric fence on my own before, so I didn't have much of a clue how the connections are supposed to work. The instructions don't give any step-by-steps about wiring. But there are some pictures. Unfortunately, the pictures don't provide enough information, and may be misleading. In my first attempt at making my wiring look like the pictures, I connected the charger to one end of the fence wire, the other end of the fence wire to the ground rod, and the ground rod back to the charger. If you know electric fences, you'll laugh and say that won't work. Indeed, the charger clicked away as it is supposed to, but the fence tester showed the system wasn't working. So I asked someone who knows better (my husband), and he said, well of course, you can't connect the other end of the fence to the ground rod. That's just supposed to be dead-ended on the post. I cut the connection between fence and ground rod, and then the fence worked great. To sum up for fencing newbies: connect one end of the fence wire to the red terminal on the charger. Tie the other end of the fence wire down somewhere, like to a fence post. Connect the ground rod to the green terminal on the charger. Turn on the charger, and you're in business! The instruction booklet says that the charger can handle exposure to rain and moisture, but does better if sheltered. I let mine sit outside, exposed to the weather, unsheltered, and it did fine through rain, sun, and frosts. At 6 weeks of continuous use under such conditions, the batteries are still going fine and the fence still works well at deterring those pesky deer. My only concern is that the mounting post for the charger itself is rather flimsy and feels like it might break with the slightest mishandling or careless kick. Other than that small piece (and the limited instructions), this kit is a great way to get started with electric fences--it has everything you need to build a battery-powered electric fence.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 24, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy to Use! By
We've had trouble keeping ducks and geese out of our garden. Our property backs up to a small lake and the animals had apparently chosen our garden as their favorite salad bar. Now with this neat little fence they stay out of that side of our yard and spare our little garden. Terrific!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 16, 2012
Amazon Review, Works well where I needed it By
This last summer has been a summer to remember, extremely hot and dry. My household includes 4 dogs, 2 of which are diggers with a capital D. Although they do have a doggy door to give them access to the air-conditioned house, at times they prefer to be outside. On the north side of the house there are a few plants and two giant holes where they've dug down nearly to the bottom of the house foundation trying to keep cool. Enough being enough, after filling in the holes and packing them down yet again I installed the Zereba Garden Protector Electric Fence Kit. Installation was a snap. I used a hammer for the stakes, ran the wire, turned it on, decided against using the included tester and let myself get ZAPPED to check it out. Lets just say I'll use the tester in the future. My dogs seem to have learned a new respect for that side of the house. No more digging! If it works so well why only 4 stars... I'm a little concerned about the powerpack. Directions say to install it in a sheltered area if possible. Unfortunately, I don't have a sheltered area within range of the provided wire. Does this mean that if exposed to rain it will fail? With only a few sprinkles of moisture in the last few months it hasn't been exposed to rain or snow. It is protected from sunlight. Regardless, now that it has gotten cooler I plan to uninstall the fence so there is no chance of it being damaged by severe winter weather. I'll reinstall late next spring or when I find the first sign of digging. The claim for bettery life was 2 months, in reality Using alkaline batteries I got about 1 1/2 months of use before replacing them. So does that deserve the deduction of a star? Only because the type of protection or protection from what wasn't really specified. In that is my concern. Otherwise it has preformed flawlessly since installation. Battery life can vary depending on brand, age, etc., so I did not take battery life into consideration when deducting the star since the batteries I used had been sitting in a drawer for more than a year.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 2, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy Fast Solution to Hungry Critters By
I had been planning to build an expensive fence to protect several apple trees I was planting, but found this solution instead. It installed easily, and so far has kept the deer away from the tender little trees. It is too early to see how it works in the long run, but so far I am impressed by the product.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
September 2, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy and efficient By
The Zareba battery operated electric fence kit works perfectly at keeping our geese off the new sod and out of a garden area. I was really surprised at how quick and easy it was to install. There are only eight steps, and they are all only one sentence long, pictured on the side of the box. The only tools needed are a pair of wire cutters, which are only used twice, and a hammer to drive in the ground stakes. This is the way I like to set things up, no dragging the whole tool box out, and no 25 page instruction manual that I have to read three times to understand. Another nice thing about this product is it comes with a charge tester, so you can see if the wires are charged and sending out a shock without actually having to touch it. The only thing that I feel could have been better in the design of this product is the stake that holds the energizer(the control box). It is made of plastic and not designed to be driven into the ground by force like the fence stakes or ground stake. So unless you have perfect soil conditions, installing this involves softening the ground with water or digging a hole. Also the box said 4 batteries included which was not the case, and actually it only requires 2 batteries. Could have meant an extra trip if I did'nt have some. All and all an easy to use product that works just like it says.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
August 29, 2012
Amazon Review, Works keeping rabbits out of garden By
This little electric fence kit worked great keeping rabbits out of our late summer garden. Our garden is about 75 square feet and it worked well covering that space. The instructions say it works up to 100 linear square feet. The set up is very easy and we had it up in less than 20 minutes. I'd highly recommend for keeping small animals out of gardens.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
August 27, 2012
Amazon Review, Works Well For Small Critters By
This battery operated electric deterent is easy to set-up and does the trick for a small garden area. We have a small garden and a small, energetic puppy that needs the great outdoors and needs to chew and dig. The garden entices him for it's great smells, taste and soft dark dirt for digging. Usually, after digging up my plants, he figures he might as well take a leak or dump on them as well. There's a hundred feet of wire and 4 D batteries included. Simply follow the steps: 1. Energizer on stake into ground 2, stick in the short posts 3. string wire 4. attach wire to energizer 5. Turn on. There's also a little warning sign and a power tester. They warn to turn the thing off on dry, brush fire kind of days, keep away from combustables(Duh), and to stick with the plan, i.e., don't alter the design. It produces a mild shock; works for our dog and cats. I'm used to the wire we used for the horses. It states good for skunks , rabbits, raccoons- I don't know about racoons? They can be pretty ornery and determined. Overall, a simple unit to install, no problems. A bit pricey but convenient.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Zareba® Battery Powered Garden Protection Kit

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate
Cookies On This Site Ok This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site you agree to these cookies being set. To find out more see our cookies policy.