28 Item(s)

per page

Most Recent Customer Reviews

28 Item(s)

per page
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
June 14, 2019
great product for racoons and squirrles By DEB

I have gotten my second fencing kit. The first one was to keep the raccoons off my bird feeders. I use the second one to keep the squirrels off of my bird feeders. It took some creative weaving of the wires to do so for the squirrels but it works well. If anyone wants a photo of how I did it I can be contacted via email.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
August 10, 2018
It deterred our squirrel thief’s. By Bev

We put this around our peach tree to deter the squirrels. Last year we got two peaches. But this year, with the fence guarding it, we got a bushel!

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
April 30, 2018
Definitely worth it By Valkyrie 1974

I got this fence to keep miniature goats out of areas I didn’t want them in. One zap was all it took. I am not handy at all, and couldn’t quite figure out how to set up the fence with the instructions provided however a quick online search for directions solved that problem. Once I knew what I was doing it look me 30 minutes to install. Love it so much I got a second one for another area.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
February 28, 2018
Works as advertised By Dad

I got this product to keep my dog away from the new grass I am reseeding, and some bushes he likes to eat for some reason. The unit I received worked for maybe two hours, during which I had the pleasure of watching the initial introduction between my dog and the fence (he's fine). However the unit suddenly stopped working on its own and nothing I did would revive it. I called the Zareba helpline and the person at Zareba was completely professional. After walking through all of the steps I tried to get the charger to work again, she agreed with me that the unit was a dud and sent me a replacement at no cost to me, which arrived a few days later. This latest unit has been working for a couple of days now and I am happy. I may get another one at some point for a different area of my garden.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
June 17, 2017
A great product By Jim

When I took the parts out of the box, I had doubts about it helping me with my war against the ground hogs, but with a minimal investment in more wire and a few more posts, the ground hogs and rabbits were defeated. The fence was easy to put up and has stood up through some rough weather. My vegetables are doing very well. The product exceeded expectations.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
May 15, 2017
Eh? By I don't require a nickname........ Annoying

I won't be able to install this before the 30 day guarantee wears out so I'm not sure how to rate the kit. One thing which bothers me is the differing instructions. In one place I see 250 feet of fencing but in another place I see it is good for 100 linear feet. Will it power 250 feet? Also, if it is 100 linear feet and you have 3 wires that cuts me down to 33 feet doesn't it? Not a very big area of coverage if you are protecting your corn crop from critters.

Response From Zareba®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative

We appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback and apologize for the experience.  

With the 250 feet of wire included, this kit can be set up to protect an area with 100 feet of fence that has two strands of wire.  Additional wire can be used, up to a total of one mile, for larger fenced areas or if more strands are needed on the fence.  Feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-ZAREBA (1-855-592-7322) with any additional questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
March 1, 2017
critter keeper outer By mike

I just ordered a second charger for another garden. Two years ago I almost gave up gardening because of woodchucks eating everything in sight. I finally decided to try electric fencing as a last resort. This did the job, woodchucks are gone. Only problem I had and still have is seeing the tester in daylight. Bought another more expensive tester but still need to test at dusk or later. I would recommend the electric fence kit to anyone who needs protection from critters.

Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
July 30, 2015
Dog going through wrought iron fence By Louigee
Our dog started going through our wrought iron fence so we had to start taking him out on a leash. Our daughter also brings her two dogs over for exercise and they would get out. After two altercations with the charged wire, our dog and one of our daughters learned to stay away from the fence. The other dog must be smarter. Only took one altercation for him to learn. Really glad I ordered this battery powered fence charger and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
July 31, 2014
Amazon Review By
I bought this to keep the crows out of my tomato patch as well as any other additional ground-dwelling critters. This has worked wonderfully and does indeed give a good zap. The batteries last about 3 weeks plus, even when left on 24x7. Love it!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
July 29, 2014
Amazon Review By
This was so easy to set up and install. Love that it is battery powered. I purchased the DC powered locally only to realize I did not have an outlet where I needed it. Only took 2 zaps before the dog realized he couldn't dig out anymore. Doesn't really hurt, it's just a surprise like a static shock is to us.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
June 30, 2014
Amazon Review By
The unit went up simply and easily and everything I needed was included. Zip it went up and in no time Zap-- the dogs found it. They haven't been near the garden since they "discovered" it means business yesterday. So I'm converted -- (to DC). So what could make it better? 1. The instructions for a first time elec fence user were not clear about what to do with the end of the wire, i.e. how to "tie" it off." The drawings and text were not complete about that part of the installation. 2. The post that the unit comes on could be a little taller to keep it further away from the soil. I know i could put up a post and hang it on that if i wanted to -- but 6 more inched of post would have been helpful..3. When the unit is in the open and not sheltered the instructions could suggest that a freezer bag or something be put over it to keep out the direct rain etc. I did this and it seems to work well. I've not had it 24 hours yet so I don't know about longer term battery life or unit life but it works exactly as advertised at this point and the dogs certainly can attest to its viability.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
July 3, 2013
Amazon Review By
Simple, Easy Solution to keep Deer off my Front Porch. Very simple setup. Came with 250 ft. wire, more than enough to protect a flower bed. You will probably need more than the 10 plastic posts, if you want to run the entire 250 ft. Deer were jumping on my front porch at night to snack on the sweet, tender Rose Petals in my Wife's Rose Garden. Ran a 50 ft. fence around the roses, using the supplied plastic posts and ground rod. A couple of zaps on the nose, and those rose petals weren't so yummy after all. Very durable plastic, no problem driving the posts into the soft soil around the garden. The unit is powered by two "D" size batteries. I had a little trouble getting the battery cover off and on, but otherwise everything went together with no trouble at all. A Fence tester is included in the kit, worked great. Just stick the probe into the ground, and slip the hook over the energized wire. A small Neon Lamp will light if the fence is "Hot".
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
January 24, 2013
Amazon Review, Easy to Use, Good Battery Time By
This is a great little kit for lightweight pest infestation; meaning small animals, animals you want to discourage from tromping through the garden. I have yet to try it out against deer. The deer in our area are very persistent and I doubt this will work to discourage the horde we have around here. We finally fenced in the garden. But for smaller projects, flower gardens, young trees you are trying to get to take hold, this kit is good. Two D batteries, easy set up and you might actually have flowers through out the spring and summer.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
November 13, 2012
Amazon Review, Rabbits Ate My Green Beans! By
I have a sizeable vegetable garden in my backyard. This year I lost every green bean of three plantings to rabbits! None of the traditional fencing kept them out. The Havahart 5250 Electronic Deer Repellent protected my flower beds against deer. So, I thought that this electric fence might control the rabbits allowing me to actually harvest beans. I received the Zareba fence too late in the season to test its effectiveness against these pests. However, I set it up just to check out the operation. The kit conveniently includes the two D-cell batteries required to power the fence and an electric fence tester. The instructions are a bit sketchy on installation. Being unfamiliar with electric fencing, I did a bit of Internet research before setting this up. The Zabera website has diagrams and installation advice. The construction is fairly straightforward, just be sure that the fence is properly grounded. Also, if you have a lot of vegetation touching the wire, the voltage will be reduced and be ineffective. Being powered by two D batteries, I'm not too worried about the change being hazardous to people. This kit hardly deserves the name "electric fence." It's similar to the Havahart Electronic Deer Repellent. Powered by 2-AA batteries, the Havahart stings if you bump into it while wearing shorts, but it's not really painful. I have high hopes for a nice harvest next summer. I'll edit this review with the outcome and adjust the stars accordingly.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 29, 2012
Amazon Review, Really easy to install & it works! By
I set this up by myself with relative ease (I am a petite woman who is very skilled at finding ways to hurt myself at every turn). Two D batteries are required & NOT included so make sure you have them! I didn't expect this to cover too much area so the first time I set it up I chose a small section in front of my home. When I discovered I still had nearly a full spool of wire I decided to go all out & try to go around my entire home. I pulled everything up & started over. Using 2 rows of wire I almost made it around my home. About 1/2 of one side of the home is only protected by one row. Note: I live in a very small house. I doubt there is enough fencing to go around a small average sized ranch house. It might be possible if you use only one strand of wire but with only one strand, it's not likely to be very effective at keeping the critters out. I used a medium sized rubber mallet to pound the little plastic stakes into the ground. A screw driver was sufficient for tightening the wire where needed. I also used the mallet for the ground pole but a hammer would have been the better choice. I am using this fencing to keep my flock of endangered geese away from the house. They love to park themselves beak first pretty much touching the doors & they poop mountains. No joke. It's terrible. When I first turned on the fence my spirits sank because the chickens & barn cats were darting back & forth through the fence like it was nothing. I checked to see if the fence had power with the little fence checker included & yep, working! Also the charger flashes but it is hard to see in the daylight. I realized that I could hear it working & now that's how I check to see if the batteries are still good. Just listen for the humming clicking sound. So far not one goose has crossed the fence(I added non electric fencing on the section that is only one strand)! I am so thrilled! I have one strand low to the ground & one about midway. It is low enough that I can easily step over it. This means I don't need a gate. Remember, you don't want the electrified wire to touch the ground! After a good drenching rain I noticed the chickens & the cats were very cautious of the fence & none dared to touch it. I guess with them being wet they are noticing the shock a bit more! This fence is doing exactly what I'd hoped for. I'm very very happy with it!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 25, 2012
Amazon Review By
This is a handy one-box electric fence kit that contains all you need for installing a small self-powered electric fence. If you've had any experience with deer or other pests in your yard, you know that the most effective deterrent for protecting your plantings is a fence. Electric fences work exceptionally well for keeping animals out, and they have the added convenience of being easy to set up and take down. This kit is great for fencing a small area. It includes all you need for a complete fence set up: a battery operated charger (rated for 5 acres) and 4 D batteries, a spool of electric fence wire (250 feet), 10 sturdy 24" green plastic fence posts, a 30" copper ground rod and mounting hardware, a plastic mounting post, a simple fence tester, and a set of 3 warning signs (required in some areas, recommended for all). The box says you can build a fence of 100 linear feet with this kit. Depending on how many strands of wire you decide to use, you could get a bit further. And since the charger is rated for 5 acres, if you really wanted to extend the fence, you could purchase additional wire and posts and go a lot further. I have a patch of hostas in my yard that the deer eat right down to soil level every year. I took this fence kit out to my hosta patch and within 20 minutes from opening the box, I had a nice tight electric fence around the plants. The only tools I needed for setting up the fence were a set of wire cutters, a slot screw driver for the mounting hardware on the ground rod, and a light sledge hammer for driving the ground rod into the ground. The only problem was the limited instructions. I've never set up an electric fence on my own before, so I didn't have much of a clue how the connections are supposed to work. The instructions don't give any step-by-steps about wiring. But there are some pictures. Unfortunately, the pictures don't provide enough information, and may be misleading. In my first attempt at making my wiring look like the pictures, I connected the charger to one end of the fence wire, the other end of the fence wire to the ground rod, and the ground rod back to the charger. If you know electric fences, you'll laugh and say that won't work. Indeed, the charger clicked away as it is supposed to, but the fence tester showed the system wasn't working. So I asked someone who knows better (my husband), and he said, well of course, you can't connect the other end of the fence to the ground rod. That's just supposed to be dead-ended on the post. I cut the connection between fence and ground rod, and then the fence worked great. To sum up for fencing newbies: connect one end of the fence wire to the red terminal on the charger. Tie the other end of the fence wire down somewhere, like to a fence post. Connect the ground rod to the green terminal on the charger. Turn on the charger, and you're in business! The instruction booklet says that the charger can handle exposure to rain and moisture, but does better if sheltered. I let mine sit outside, exposed to the weather, unsheltered, and it did fine through rain, sun, and frosts. At 6 weeks of continuous use under such conditions, the batteries are still going fine and the fence still works well at deterring those pesky deer. My only concern is that the mounting post for the charger itself is rather flimsy and feels like it might break with the slightest mishandling or careless kick. Other than that small piece (and the limited instructions), this kit is a great way to get started with electric fences--it has everything you need to build a battery-powered electric fence.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 24, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy to Use! By
We've had trouble keeping ducks and geese out of our garden. Our property backs up to a small lake and the animals had apparently chosen our garden as their favorite salad bar. Now with this neat little fence they stay out of that side of our yard and spare our little garden. Terrific!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 18, 2012
Amazon Review By
My wife and I have sheep and I installed an electric fence around their pasture, which covers around 1.5 acres, so I was not new to electric fencing. We use solar-powered Zareba electric fence energizers for that. But we also needed a way to enable our female sheep (called ewes) to have access to pasture with their newborn lambs -- without the rams from bothering them. I tried some non-electric portable fences and the rams pushed through them, so I gave the Zareba Garden Protector Electric Fence a shot. Since sheep tend to approach fences with their noses toward the ground, even though the rams are taller than the fence, after one shock they steer clear of it. We also use it for when my mom or sisters bring their dogs, since our main yard is not fenced in and we live near a busy road. Very impressed! The battery life is very good, and the fence is not hard to move about when needed. That said it is very durable and could serve as a semi-permanent fence. We did not try it on the garden this year but I am not sure how well it would do to protect your veggies from bunnies and squirrels, as I've seen them run under the lowest electric wire in our pasture, which is just a few inches from the ground. But it would certainly deter deer, racoons and other larger critters.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 18, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy to sest up and works By
I was having an issue with cats coming into my raised bed garden, and this little electric fence is keeping them away. It was easy to set up and I'm not sure if the actual fence scares the cats or if they've gotten zapped, but they are giving it a wide berth and don't go into the garden any longer.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 16, 2012
Amazon Review, Works well where I needed it By
This last summer has been a summer to remember, extremely hot and dry. My household includes 4 dogs, 2 of which are diggers with a capital D. Although they do have a doggy door to give them access to the air-conditioned house, at times they prefer to be outside. On the north side of the house there are a few plants and two giant holes where they've dug down nearly to the bottom of the house foundation trying to keep cool. Enough being enough, after filling in the holes and packing them down yet again I installed the Zereba Garden Protector Electric Fence Kit. Installation was a snap. I used a hammer for the stakes, ran the wire, turned it on, decided against using the included tester and let myself get ZAPPED to check it out. Lets just say I'll use the tester in the future. My dogs seem to have learned a new respect for that side of the house. No more digging! If it works so well why only 4 stars... I'm a little concerned about the powerpack. Directions say to install it in a sheltered area if possible. Unfortunately, I don't have a sheltered area within range of the provided wire. Does this mean that if exposed to rain it will fail? With only a few sprinkles of moisture in the last few months it hasn't been exposed to rain or snow. It is protected from sunlight. Regardless, now that it has gotten cooler I plan to uninstall the fence so there is no chance of it being damaged by severe winter weather. I'll reinstall late next spring or when I find the first sign of digging. The claim for bettery life was 2 months, in reality Using alkaline batteries I got about 1 1/2 months of use before replacing them. So does that deserve the deduction of a star? Only because the type of protection or protection from what wasn't really specified. In that is my concern. Otherwise it has preformed flawlessly since installation. Battery life can vary depending on brand, age, etc., so I did not take battery life into consideration when deducting the star since the batteries I used had been sitting in a drawer for more than a year.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 10, 2012
Amazon Review, Pests no more By
I live in the woods and have quite a few animals nibbling on my garden. The Zareba Electric fence kit was very easy to install, and while it doesn't give a massive shock it definitely gives enough to get noticed. I have not had any further problems in the area I put this fence kit. If you have garden pests, this just might be the best way to keep them out besides putting up a zoo sized fence!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 8, 2012
Amazon Review By
I installed this around my shed in the backyard to keep animals from getting under the shed and digging and breeding. I placed the stakes at each corner of the shed, one in the center of the wall of the shed and on each side of the steps in the front of the shed. I used a hammer to get the copper rod into the ground underneath the steps, and ran a wire from it to the GROUND connection on the machine, I then ran wire from the machine around the shed through each of the snaps and wrapped it several times around the last (and first one with excess going to the machine). I then powered it on! The machine clicks every second or so. The package comes with a checker to make sure it is working, I tried it, but it never lit up. I was not sure if it was working, so I used the old school way of testing it. I held on to the wire and a second later it shocked me, I then went to the end and checked that it also had a current, and it did I got shocked. It is not a very high voltage, but it is like stabbing your finger with a needle, it should work well keeping any animals out and make it very uncomfortable for anything to try and get under or dig under, since it will keep shocking them and hopefully they will give up and leave. So far I am happy with this item, it seems to work and has a pretty good shock that should keep anything out. If you are trying to keep animals out this should work! I am happy with it and hope it will keep the animals out!!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 2, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy Fast Solution to Hungry Critters By
I had been planning to build an expensive fence to protect several apple trees I was planting, but found this solution instead. It installed easily, and so far has kept the deer away from the tender little trees. It is too early to see how it works in the long run, but so far I am impressed by the product.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
September 22, 2012
Amazon Review, Works well for small animals By
So far this fence kit seems to be keeping the small animals at bay. I have not personally seen any animals getting zapped but the plants are showing less signs of "pruning" by critters. So far even the deer seem to be keeping their distance but I have used other methods that seem to work for a while until the deer figure out a way around (or over)it. I only hope this one proves to be different! For small yards or small animal control I can highly recommend this product.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
September 4, 2012
Amazon Review, Excellent product! By
Easy to install and discourages most small and large animals. There were a few pesky rabbits who figured it out and got to the lettuce. I guess it was too much temptation, and of course it won't keep the crows out of your corn. We had to make an adjustment to keep the rabbits from getting under it and hopefully that will work. I did not think it would keep the black bear we have around our mountain home out of the berry bushes, but so far he stays clear of it. Even a low impact zap on the nose may discourage him from trying to get to the blue berry bushes and fruit trees. Time will tell. We live in a huge wildlife area in the Blue Ridge Mountains so our garden and fruit bearing trees/bushes will give this product the ultimate test. I will comment with updates if it should fail to keep the animals out long term. So far it is doing a wonderful job.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
September 2, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy and efficient By
The Zareba battery operated electric fence kit works perfectly at keeping our geese off the new sod and out of a garden area. I was really surprised at how quick and easy it was to install. There are only eight steps, and they are all only one sentence long, pictured on the side of the box. The only tools needed are a pair of wire cutters, which are only used twice, and a hammer to drive in the ground stakes. This is the way I like to set things up, no dragging the whole tool box out, and no 25 page instruction manual that I have to read three times to understand. Another nice thing about this product is it comes with a charge tester, so you can see if the wires are charged and sending out a shock without actually having to touch it. The only thing that I feel could have been better in the design of this product is the stake that holds the energizer(the control box). It is made of plastic and not designed to be driven into the ground by force like the fence stakes or ground stake. So unless you have perfect soil conditions, installing this involves softening the ground with water or digging a hole. Also the box said 4 batteries included which was not the case, and actually it only requires 2 batteries. Could have meant an extra trip if I did'nt have some. All and all an easy to use product that works just like it says.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
August 29, 2012
Amazon Review, Works keeping rabbits out of garden By
This little electric fence kit worked great keeping rabbits out of our late summer garden. Our garden is about 75 square feet and it worked well covering that space. The instructions say it works up to 100 linear square feet. The set up is very easy and we had it up in less than 20 minutes. I'd highly recommend for keeping small animals out of gardens.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
August 27, 2012
Amazon Review, Works Well For Small Critters By
This battery operated electric deterent is easy to set-up and does the trick for a small garden area. We have a small garden and a small, energetic puppy that needs the great outdoors and needs to chew and dig. The garden entices him for it's great smells, taste and soft dark dirt for digging. Usually, after digging up my plants, he figures he might as well take a leak or dump on them as well. There's a hundred feet of wire and 4 D batteries included. Simply follow the steps: 1. Energizer on stake into ground 2, stick in the short posts 3. string wire 4. attach wire to energizer 5. Turn on. There's also a little warning sign and a power tester. They warn to turn the thing off on dry, brush fire kind of days, keep away from combustables(Duh), and to stick with the plan, i.e., don't alter the design. It produces a mild shock; works for our dog and cats. I'm used to the wire we used for the horses. It states good for skunks , rabbits, raccoons- I don't know about racoons? They can be pretty ornery and determined. Overall, a simple unit to install, no problems. A bit pricey but convenient.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Zareba® Battery Powered Garden Protection Kit

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate
Cookies On This Site Ok This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site you agree to these cookies being set. To find out more see our cookies policy.