Items 11 to 20 of 28 total

per page

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 28 total

per page
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
June 30, 2014
Amazon Review By
The unit went up simply and easily and everything I needed was included. Zip it went up and in no time Zap-- the dogs found it. They haven't been near the garden since they "discovered" it means business yesterday. So I'm converted -- (to DC). So what could make it better? 1. The instructions for a first time elec fence user were not clear about what to do with the end of the wire, i.e. how to "tie" it off." The drawings and text were not complete about that part of the installation. 2. The post that the unit comes on could be a little taller to keep it further away from the soil. I know i could put up a post and hang it on that if i wanted to -- but 6 more inched of post would have been helpful..3. When the unit is in the open and not sheltered the instructions could suggest that a freezer bag or something be put over it to keep out the direct rain etc. I did this and it seems to work well. I've not had it 24 hours yet so I don't know about longer term battery life or unit life but it works exactly as advertised at this point and the dogs certainly can attest to its viability.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
July 3, 2013
Amazon Review By
Simple, Easy Solution to keep Deer off my Front Porch. Very simple setup. Came with 250 ft. wire, more than enough to protect a flower bed. You will probably need more than the 10 plastic posts, if you want to run the entire 250 ft. Deer were jumping on my front porch at night to snack on the sweet, tender Rose Petals in my Wife's Rose Garden. Ran a 50 ft. fence around the roses, using the supplied plastic posts and ground rod. A couple of zaps on the nose, and those rose petals weren't so yummy after all. Very durable plastic, no problem driving the posts into the soft soil around the garden. The unit is powered by two "D" size batteries. I had a little trouble getting the battery cover off and on, but otherwise everything went together with no trouble at all. A Fence tester is included in the kit, worked great. Just stick the probe into the ground, and slip the hook over the energized wire. A small Neon Lamp will light if the fence is "Hot".
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
January 24, 2013
Amazon Review, Easy to Use, Good Battery Time By
This is a great little kit for lightweight pest infestation; meaning small animals, animals you want to discourage from tromping through the garden. I have yet to try it out against deer. The deer in our area are very persistent and I doubt this will work to discourage the horde we have around here. We finally fenced in the garden. But for smaller projects, flower gardens, young trees you are trying to get to take hold, this kit is good. Two D batteries, easy set up and you might actually have flowers through out the spring and summer.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
November 13, 2012
Amazon Review, Rabbits Ate My Green Beans! By
I have a sizeable vegetable garden in my backyard. This year I lost every green bean of three plantings to rabbits! None of the traditional fencing kept them out. The Havahart 5250 Electronic Deer Repellent protected my flower beds against deer. So, I thought that this electric fence might control the rabbits allowing me to actually harvest beans. I received the Zareba fence too late in the season to test its effectiveness against these pests. However, I set it up just to check out the operation. The kit conveniently includes the two D-cell batteries required to power the fence and an electric fence tester. The instructions are a bit sketchy on installation. Being unfamiliar with electric fencing, I did a bit of Internet research before setting this up. The Zabera website has diagrams and installation advice. The construction is fairly straightforward, just be sure that the fence is properly grounded. Also, if you have a lot of vegetation touching the wire, the voltage will be reduced and be ineffective. Being powered by two D batteries, I'm not too worried about the change being hazardous to people. This kit hardly deserves the name "electric fence." It's similar to the Havahart Electronic Deer Repellent. Powered by 2-AA batteries, the Havahart stings if you bump into it while wearing shorts, but it's not really painful. I have high hopes for a nice harvest next summer. I'll edit this review with the outcome and adjust the stars accordingly.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 29, 2012
Amazon Review, Really easy to install & it works! By
I set this up by myself with relative ease (I am a petite woman who is very skilled at finding ways to hurt myself at every turn). Two D batteries are required & NOT included so make sure you have them! I didn't expect this to cover too much area so the first time I set it up I chose a small section in front of my home. When I discovered I still had nearly a full spool of wire I decided to go all out & try to go around my entire home. I pulled everything up & started over. Using 2 rows of wire I almost made it around my home. About 1/2 of one side of the home is only protected by one row. Note: I live in a very small house. I doubt there is enough fencing to go around a small average sized ranch house. It might be possible if you use only one strand of wire but with only one strand, it's not likely to be very effective at keeping the critters out. I used a medium sized rubber mallet to pound the little plastic stakes into the ground. A screw driver was sufficient for tightening the wire where needed. I also used the mallet for the ground pole but a hammer would have been the better choice. I am using this fencing to keep my flock of endangered geese away from the house. They love to park themselves beak first pretty much touching the doors & they poop mountains. No joke. It's terrible. When I first turned on the fence my spirits sank because the chickens & barn cats were darting back & forth through the fence like it was nothing. I checked to see if the fence had power with the little fence checker included & yep, working! Also the charger flashes but it is hard to see in the daylight. I realized that I could hear it working & now that's how I check to see if the batteries are still good. Just listen for the humming clicking sound. So far not one goose has crossed the fence(I added non electric fencing on the section that is only one strand)! I am so thrilled! I have one strand low to the ground & one about midway. It is low enough that I can easily step over it. This means I don't need a gate. Remember, you don't want the electrified wire to touch the ground! After a good drenching rain I noticed the chickens & the cats were very cautious of the fence & none dared to touch it. I guess with them being wet they are noticing the shock a bit more! This fence is doing exactly what I'd hoped for. I'm very very happy with it!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 25, 2012
Amazon Review By
This is a handy one-box electric fence kit that contains all you need for installing a small self-powered electric fence. If you've had any experience with deer or other pests in your yard, you know that the most effective deterrent for protecting your plantings is a fence. Electric fences work exceptionally well for keeping animals out, and they have the added convenience of being easy to set up and take down. This kit is great for fencing a small area. It includes all you need for a complete fence set up: a battery operated charger (rated for 5 acres) and 4 D batteries, a spool of electric fence wire (250 feet), 10 sturdy 24" green plastic fence posts, a 30" copper ground rod and mounting hardware, a plastic mounting post, a simple fence tester, and a set of 3 warning signs (required in some areas, recommended for all). The box says you can build a fence of 100 linear feet with this kit. Depending on how many strands of wire you decide to use, you could get a bit further. And since the charger is rated for 5 acres, if you really wanted to extend the fence, you could purchase additional wire and posts and go a lot further. I have a patch of hostas in my yard that the deer eat right down to soil level every year. I took this fence kit out to my hosta patch and within 20 minutes from opening the box, I had a nice tight electric fence around the plants. The only tools I needed for setting up the fence were a set of wire cutters, a slot screw driver for the mounting hardware on the ground rod, and a light sledge hammer for driving the ground rod into the ground. The only problem was the limited instructions. I've never set up an electric fence on my own before, so I didn't have much of a clue how the connections are supposed to work. The instructions don't give any step-by-steps about wiring. But there are some pictures. Unfortunately, the pictures don't provide enough information, and may be misleading. In my first attempt at making my wiring look like the pictures, I connected the charger to one end of the fence wire, the other end of the fence wire to the ground rod, and the ground rod back to the charger. If you know electric fences, you'll laugh and say that won't work. Indeed, the charger clicked away as it is supposed to, but the fence tester showed the system wasn't working. So I asked someone who knows better (my husband), and he said, well of course, you can't connect the other end of the fence to the ground rod. That's just supposed to be dead-ended on the post. I cut the connection between fence and ground rod, and then the fence worked great. To sum up for fencing newbies: connect one end of the fence wire to the red terminal on the charger. Tie the other end of the fence wire down somewhere, like to a fence post. Connect the ground rod to the green terminal on the charger. Turn on the charger, and you're in business! The instruction booklet says that the charger can handle exposure to rain and moisture, but does better if sheltered. I let mine sit outside, exposed to the weather, unsheltered, and it did fine through rain, sun, and frosts. At 6 weeks of continuous use under such conditions, the batteries are still going fine and the fence still works well at deterring those pesky deer. My only concern is that the mounting post for the charger itself is rather flimsy and feels like it might break with the slightest mishandling or careless kick. Other than that small piece (and the limited instructions), this kit is a great way to get started with electric fences--it has everything you need to build a battery-powered electric fence.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 24, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy to Use! By
We've had trouble keeping ducks and geese out of our garden. Our property backs up to a small lake and the animals had apparently chosen our garden as their favorite salad bar. Now with this neat little fence they stay out of that side of our yard and spare our little garden. Terrific!
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 18, 2012
Amazon Review By
My wife and I have sheep and I installed an electric fence around their pasture, which covers around 1.5 acres, so I was not new to electric fencing. We use solar-powered Zareba electric fence energizers for that. But we also needed a way to enable our female sheep (called ewes) to have access to pasture with their newborn lambs -- without the rams from bothering them. I tried some non-electric portable fences and the rams pushed through them, so I gave the Zareba Garden Protector Electric Fence a shot. Since sheep tend to approach fences with their noses toward the ground, even though the rams are taller than the fence, after one shock they steer clear of it. We also use it for when my mom or sisters bring their dogs, since our main yard is not fenced in and we live near a busy road. Very impressed! The battery life is very good, and the fence is not hard to move about when needed. That said it is very durable and could serve as a semi-permanent fence. We did not try it on the garden this year but I am not sure how well it would do to protect your veggies from bunnies and squirrels, as I've seen them run under the lowest electric wire in our pasture, which is just a few inches from the ground. But it would certainly deter deer, racoons and other larger critters.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 18, 2012
Amazon Review, Easy to sest up and works By
I was having an issue with cats coming into my raised bed garden, and this little electric fence is keeping them away. It was easy to set up and I'm not sure if the actual fence scares the cats or if they've gotten zapped, but they are giving it a wide berth and don't go into the garden any longer.
Review Rate
Review posted on www.zarebasystems.com
October 16, 2012
Amazon Review, Works well where I needed it By
This last summer has been a summer to remember, extremely hot and dry. My household includes 4 dogs, 2 of which are diggers with a capital D. Although they do have a doggy door to give them access to the air-conditioned house, at times they prefer to be outside. On the north side of the house there are a few plants and two giant holes where they've dug down nearly to the bottom of the house foundation trying to keep cool. Enough being enough, after filling in the holes and packing them down yet again I installed the Zereba Garden Protector Electric Fence Kit. Installation was a snap. I used a hammer for the stakes, ran the wire, turned it on, decided against using the included tester and let myself get ZAPPED to check it out. Lets just say I'll use the tester in the future. My dogs seem to have learned a new respect for that side of the house. No more digging! If it works so well why only 4 stars... I'm a little concerned about the powerpack. Directions say to install it in a sheltered area if possible. Unfortunately, I don't have a sheltered area within range of the provided wire. Does this mean that if exposed to rain it will fail? With only a few sprinkles of moisture in the last few months it hasn't been exposed to rain or snow. It is protected from sunlight. Regardless, now that it has gotten cooler I plan to uninstall the fence so there is no chance of it being damaged by severe winter weather. I'll reinstall late next spring or when I find the first sign of digging. The claim for bettery life was 2 months, in reality Using alkaline batteries I got about 1 1/2 months of use before replacing them. So does that deserve the deduction of a star? Only because the type of protection or protection from what wasn't really specified. In that is my concern. Otherwise it has preformed flawlessly since installation. Battery life can vary depending on brand, age, etc., so I did not take battery life into consideration when deducting the star since the batteries I used had been sitting in a drawer for more than a year.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Zareba® Battery Powered Garden Protection Kit

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate
Cookies On This Site Ok This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site you agree to these cookies being set. To find out more see our cookies policy.