Zareba® 5 Mile Solar Electric Fence Charger

Reviews for Zareba® 5 Mile Solar Low Impedance Fence Charger

Model
ESP5M-Z
3.3
3.3 out of 5 stars
65%
26 Reviews
5 stars 11 (42%)
4 stars 2 (8%)
3 stars 1 (4%)
2 stars 6 (23%)
1 star 6 (23%)
Sort by
Rating
Newest
Helpfulness
I set up my polywire, ...
1
Jun 8, 2023
I set up my polywire, 4-strand fence and installed my solar fence charger. I left the charger off for 4 days in the sun to charge and this evening turned it on. I tested the fence and a current was running through it for about 2 min. After that, the system seemed to shut down, although the led display indicated that a charge was being sent. I tested the system and not current was flowing through it. I am very disappointed and have seen other posts that report the same experience. it appears that the battery is the problem, but for a newly installed system, I should not have to be concerned with this matter.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Jun 14, 2023
Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear about this unusual experience and would like to learn more so we can offer assistance. This energizer has a one year warranty for repair. Reach out to us via the Contact Us page or call at 1-855-592-7322 with any questions.
Going on my 5th year ...
5
Apr 16, 2022
Going on my 5th year with this. In the beginning, we had to replace the batteries twice. Zareba did that with no hassle at all. It still runs at full power, and helps keep deer out of our orchard. Would buy again without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? 0
I've had it for five ...
3
Nov 8, 2021
I've had it for five years. Twice it has quit charging the fence while the light continued to flash. The battery was bad (5.8v), the problem fixed with a new battery. I consider this a significant design flaw. After the first time, it was "I'll remember to check it." After the second time I put black tape over the light so it wouldn't fool me again. The minor issue is what I consider poor labels. I have "crs disease" which is "Can't Remember Stuff." So I added labels using felt markers that use oil based paints ("paint pen") which resist fading better than Sharpies. On the bottom and front I have "On-OFF" labels for the switch. On the bottom screw holes for the battery compartment I have "battery (with arrow pointing)" and "2.5mm hex" for the screw size. I also have "bad at < 6.0v" to remind me when to change. If I hadn't noticed the light not working at night, I never would have found it wasn't working at all- it did OK during the day with the sun sending enough electricity to make the light work (but not charging the fence). I don't recommend this product until the design flaw is changed. Otherwise, works fine.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Nov 12, 2021
We appreciate your feedback and have sent it to our product manager for review.
Service was outstanding!
4
Jun 30, 2021
Purchased the Zareba ESP5M-Z from another online dealer and it was DOA. After installation around my vegetable garden, I thought I was protected from raccoons, groundhogs, and other small varmints. A few days after installation, my sweet corn was being destroyed by coons. Purchased a tester and discovered the "hot" wire was not even warm! There was absolutely no output from the wire terminals on the charger. Called Zareba customer service, and they were extremely helpful. Sent the unit to Woodstream for repair with an expected 5-7 business days turn-around. Shipped out on Thursday. The following Tuesday, it was returned. I installed it, and testing showed 7,000+ volts all around my garden. No more coon damage! Many thanks to Zareba and Woodstream.
Was this review helpful? 0
excellent
5
Jun 1, 2021
Entire fence system purchased. Excellent quality. Helpful videos. This is second horse fence I have purchased. Could not be more pleased
Was this review helpful? 0
Worked continuously for 4 years
4
Mar 17, 2021
I've had the 5-mile charger for 4 years and the battery has just now quit holding a charge. It will still work during the day if we have sun. For some of you that said it was flashing but no volt going out? I found when it was super dry the ground rod needed water. Once I watered the ground pole I could hear volts going through the lines. So might not always be the battery, it could be the ground. I am going to replace the battery and hope it continues to work as well as it did for the last 4 years.
Was this review helpful? 0
Good product
5
May 23, 2020
I have had this unit for over 6 years and it is still working great. I did replace the battery but I also replaced the battery in many devices like my cordless drill. If you leave a battery it will self discharge and then if it gets to low on charge it may not take a charge again. Sorry to hear some people had issues but for me I would buy another one if this one ever dies.
Was this review helpful? 0
Not happy
1
Aug 14, 2019
Very upset with this product... Unit did not work.. immediately keeps sending a charge as soon as I hooked it up to the battery, and would not stop... second unit did the same.. battery was a healthy 12.8V DC. Don’t understand what the issue could be..Instructions very vague and Customer service was absolutely no help.. and of course.. warranty ran out 3 weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? 0
Woodstream (Admin)
Aug 14, 2019
Hi there! We're sorry to hear that your charger is not running as expected! This charger should give an pulse of charge every second, and it may seem like a continuous charge. While your charger may not be in-warranty, we do offer repair options for out-of-warranty repairs if you desire. For more information, please contact our Customer Relations Team at 1-855-5-ZAREBA (1-855-592-7322). We're happy to help!      
Would Not Recommend
1
Aug 9, 2019
Used the 5 mile solar fence charger to contain my dogs in the back yard. Worked great for almost 2 years and then just quit. No light no nothing. Tractor Supply was no help at all, told me abruptly to just contact the manufacturer. I would not recommend this product. Used as it was it should of lasted considerably longer than almost 2 years.
Was this review helpful? 1
Woodstream (Admin)
Aug 9, 2019
Hi Kenneth! We are sorry that your charger has stopped functioning at full cpacity! We are more than happy to offer troubleshooting options and possible repair options. Please contact our Customer Relations Team at 1-855-5-ZAREBA (1-855-592-7322). We are happy to help!
Great quality charger
5
Jun 15, 2019
This was so perfect for keeping the neighbors dogs out of my yard and keeping my chickens safe. It was also very simple to hookup for a beginner in electric fencing.
Was this review helpful? 0

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

Page
Page
Apply per page
  Canada

Visit Our
Canadian Store